Florida Minimum Wages

Minimum Wage Attorneys in Fort Lauderdale

Understanding Florida’s Minimum Wage Laws

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) states that employers must pay their employees the highest applicable minimum wage, whether that be the federal minimum wage or the minimum wage set by state or local law. As of September 30, 2022 Florida’s minimum wage is $11.00 an hour, $3.75 higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25 an hour. This means that you are entitled to receive at least the higher minimum wage of $11.00 for every hour worked.

If you are a tipped employee, your tips may be counted towards minimum wage. Your employer must notify you that your tips are included in your minimum wage, and he or she must make up the difference in pay to ensure that you still receive the equivalent of minimum wage.

If your employer failed to pay you minimum wage, contact USA Employment Lawyers by calling (954) 266-0908 to speak to a minimum wage attorney in Fort Lauderdale about your options.

Exceptions to the Minimum Wage Law

It is important to note that not all employees are covered by the FLSA. Exempt or non-covered workers are not entitled to receive the protections afforded by the FLSA, including minimum wage protections. In certain situations, workers may be exempt from FLSA protections even if their employers are covered.

Examples of non-covered workers include:

  • Independent contractors
  • Certain executive, administrative, and professional workers
  • Salaried outside salespeople
  • Computer programmers, systems analysists, and similar workers
  • Workers employed by small farms
  • Some child and elderly caretakers
  • Small, local newspaper employees and delivery workers
  • Seasonal recreational and amusement workers
  • Miscellaneous workers, such as apprentices, companions, etc.

The above list illustrates a generalized understanding of FLSA-exempt workers. In most cases, the aforementioned employees must also meet other specific criteria in order to be considered exempt from FLSA protections, such as minimum wage.

Florida Minimum Wages:

2017: $8.10

2018: $8.25

2019: $8.46

2020: $8.56

January 1, 2021, through September 29, 2021: $8.65

September 30, 2021, through September 29, 2022: $10.00

September 30, 2022 through the Present: $11.00

If you have questions about your exemption status or you are dealing with a minimum wage matter, contact USA Employment Lawyers and request a free case evaluation with one of our Fort Lauderdale minimum wage attorneys. We regularly assist clients throughout the entire state of Florida.

You can reach our office by calling (954) 266-0908 or by filling out and submitting an online contact form.

Put the Law to Work for You

Contact Us Today Free Case Evaluation
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please respond to the questions below to help us better evaluate your potential claim:

  • Please enter a message.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • Please enter a message.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Thank you for reaching out to us. We will review your submission and follow up with you to discuss your potential case.